Arizona Fly Fishing Forums  

Go Back   Arizona Fly Fishing Forums > Arizona Fly Fishing > General Discussion

Old 02-08-2006, 10:06 AM

Who Are You?

This is optional of course. Some folk would rather keep to themselves. I'm cool with that.

However, I'll Start.

My name is Mike M. and I was born in Tucson in 1969. I am a 3rd generation Arizonan and father of a 4th. I have spent a couple years in Texas and Oregon.

My family was always into the outdoors and made frequent trips all over the state, particularly the White Mountains since we had family up there.

I started fishing when I was a youngster, but first picked up a fly rod in 1983 while backpacking in the Sierra Nevadas.

Last edited by Seldomseen; 01-17-2017 at 04:28 PM.
Old 02-08-2006, 10:08 AM
Founding Member

These things make me feel REALLY old. I graduated from high school the year you were born. Shoot, now I need a nap!
Old 02-08-2006, 10:21 AM
Derelict

I am an AZ transplant (dislike PHX, LOVE Arizona). I have been married for a little over five years, but no kids.

I grew up camping, fishing, and backpacking in the Boise and Sawtooth Mountains of Idaho. Fishing back then was about walking rivers with my dad and brother, spinning gear in hand. I spent much of my free time in high school and college either attached to a climbing rope, a hundred feet up some granite face, or skiing lift-served and backcountry goodness. I first picked up a fly rod about 6 months ago. It combines the fun of fishing as a youth with an art form unequal to anything I've ever experienced.

When I'm not roaming around with a fly rod in hand, I can be found behind a camera lens or occasionally climbing some rock.

Last edited by mjl; 01-06-2008 at 09:31 AM.
Old 02-08-2006, 10:23 AM
Administrator

Born in 1971 - Long Beach
Grew up and fished mostly back East.
Been in AZ since '92.
Been casting the long stick for over 20 years but like Seldom, almost exclusively for the past several.